No products in the cart.
Products that are in the Soy Allergy TasterieBoxes must be made without using any soy. The manufacturer is required to verify that the products as well as the ingredients used to make these products do not have soy. If the facility processes soy, or if shared equipment is used, the manufacturer must verify that strict allergen control processes, including testing for residues, are in place to prevent cross contact and cross contamination. If you would like to learn more about our allergen control screening, please contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org. Please view our ingredients disclaimer.
Soy can be a major source of protein in the diet. Luckily, it can easily be made up for with other foods with protein in the diet.
Sources of protein:
- Red meat such as beef or lamb
- Dairy products
When reading food labels, soy lecithin is often listed as an ingredient in packaged foods. The good news is that soy lecithin does not contain detectable soy protein. Therefore, it often can be included in the diet of a person with soy allergy.
However, there is a low percentage of people that do have a true soy lecithin allergy. Please check with your allergist regarding the safety of soy lecithin in your diet.
When reading nutrition labels, you may see soybean oil listed as an ingredient in packaged foods. If it is pure soybean oil, it is not considered to be allergenic unless it is contaminated by soy protein as it is manufactured. However, cold-pressed, pure-pressed, expeller-pressed or unrefined soybean oils are very likely to contain soy proteins. Once again, it is advised that you check with your allergist regarding your degree of soy allergy and what should be avoided.
Soy both falls under the Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act and must be clearly stated on the nutrition labels of any packaged foods in the U.S. It will either be displayed next to the allergen ingredient such as “soy” or underneath the ingredient list such as “contains soy”.